益生元是什么?

益生元是食物中不可消化的纤维成分,它能刺激肠道中有益细菌的生长。然而,并非所有的纤维都是益生元。若要被归类为益生元,纤维需通过胃肠道而不被消化,且能刺激大肠中某些“有益”细菌的生长和/或活性。

这些有益的细菌通常被称为益生菌,它们构成了独特的肠道菌群。益生元是这些细菌的养料,帮助它们生长和繁殖,从而在人体内起到有益作用。当有益的细菌在肠道中占主导地位时,便有助于建立一个能够滋养排列在肠壁上的细胞的环境。这便是所谓的“益生元效应”。

哪些食物含有益生元?

具有高益生元效应的膳食纤维包括菊粉、果寡糖 (果聚糖、FOS) 和低聚半乳糖 (GOS)。这些存在于多种食物中,包括洋葱、洋蓟、豆类、芦笋、某些水果和坚果,以及全谷物。一些特定食物,比如BARLEYMaxTM ,含有一种特殊的名为抗性淀粉的益生元纤维。除了为有益的肠道细菌提供养料之外,抗性淀粉的独特益处是,当细菌发酵这种益生元纤维时,会产生丁酸盐这种副产品。丁酸盐是一种短链脂肪酸,对肠道细胞有保护作用且有助于预防肠癌。BARLEYMaxTM是一种100%纯天然全谷物,其抗性淀粉含量是其他谷物的四倍。

保持肠道健康需要多少益生元纤维?

国家健康和医学研究委员会建议女性和男性每天分别至少摄入25克和30克纤维。但尽管有这些建议的出台,许多澳大利亚人其实并没有摄入足量的纤维。虽然目前尚没有针对益生元纤维每日摄入量的指导性建议,但是通过食用富含益生元纤维的全谷物和食物,可以确保为肠道中的有益细菌提供充足的益生元养料,来支持健康的肠道菌群。

What are prebiotics?

Prebiotics are the non-digestible fibre components of food that stimulate the growth of good bacteria in the gut. However, not all fibre is prebiotic. To be classified as a prebiotic, the fibre must pass through the gastrointestinal tract undigested and stimulate the growth and/or activity of certain ‘good’ bacteria in the large intestine.

These good bacteria are often referred to as probiotics, which make up the unique gut microbiome.  Prebiotics act as food for these bacteria and help them to grow and flourish, which in turn provide beneficial effects in the body.  When the good bacteria are dominant in the gut, they help to establish an environment that nourishes the cells that line the gut wall. This is known as the ‘prebiotic effect’.

Which foods contain prebiotics?

Dietary fibres classified as having high prebiotic effects includes inulin, fructo-oligosaccharides (fructans, FOS) and galacto-oligosaccharides (GOS). These include a range of foods such as onions, artichokes, legumes, asparagus, some fruits and nuts, as well as whole grains. Some foods such as BARLEYMaxTM whole grain are high in a specific type of prebiotic fibre called resistant starch. Besides providing a fuel source for the good gut bacteria, one unique benefit of resistant starch is that when the bacteria ferment this prebiotic fibre, they produce butyrate as a by-product. Butyrate is a short chain fatty acid that has a protective effect on the gut cells and can help to prevent colon cancer. BARLEYMaxTM is a 100% natural whole grain that has four times the amount of resistant starch compared to most other grains.

 

How much prebiotic fibre is needed for gut health?

The National Health and Medical Research Council recommend that women and men consume at least 25g and 30g of fibre per day, respectively. Despite these recommendations, many Australians do not eat enough fibre. Whilst there are no set guidelines for the recommended daily I take of prebiotic fibre, by eating a diet high in whole grains and foods that are good sources of prebiotic fibre, you can help ensure that you provide the much-needed prebiotic fuel to help support a healthy gut microbiome.