1. 喜马拉雅292在澳大利亚的重要性

1998年,Chandler博士和他的同事Morell博士在停车场的一次偶然谈话之后,喜马拉雅292在澳大利亚的地位便开始步步高升。Morell博士回忆到:“Chandler博士找到了所有的不同品种的、形状不一的大麦,他把它们装进包装袋里,然后放在架子上的鞋盒里,想着有朝一日它们会很有研究价值。” Morell博士接着说道:“我说我想看看,因为可能有一些有趣的大麦品种。”

2. CSIRO的研究

一包喜马拉雅292证明了两个博士的看法。CSIRO在同年晚些时候启动了一项谷物研究的项目。两个独立的CSIRO部门分别开展了研究,其中一个部门将重点放在了喜马拉雅292的杂交育种上,力求研发出一种适合澳大利亚种植条件的品种,而另一个部门的工作重点则放在研究收集营养证据来支持新大麦。

3. BARLEYmax™的问世

团队研发出了BARLEYmax™,直到2007年CSIRO一直在测试BARLEYmax™在各种食品中的营养价值。 测试结果显示,这些食品均具有较低的升糖指数且能促进健康的肠道活动。

4. BARLEYmax™的上市

2009年,食品制造商Popina在澳大利亚以 Goodness Superfoods品牌推出了包含BARLEYmax™的产品,就此BARLEYmax™完成了从鞋盒到超市货架的一路升迁旅途。

Print Friendly

1. Himalaya 292’s significance in Australia

It was in 1998 that Himalaya 292’s significance in Australia grew, following a chance car-park conversation between Dr Chandler and his colleague, Dr Morell. “Dr Chandler had found all these barley types with differently shaped grains which he’d put into packets and then in a shoebox on his shelf thinking they could be interesting one day,” Dr Morell recalls. “I said I’d like to have a look at them because there could be some interesting types.”

2. CSIRO Research

And very interesting a packet of Himalaya 292 proved to be. So much so that a project involving research into the grain was launched by CSIRO later that same year. Investigated by two separate CSIRO divisions, one focused their attention on cross breeding Himalaya 292 to create a variety to suit Australian conditions, while the second targeted their work towards establishing nutritional evidence to support the new barley.

3. Result was BARLEYmax™

The result was BARLEYmax™ and by 2007 a study was under way at CSIRO to test the nutritional value of the grain in various food products, with tests showing the products comprised a low glycaemic index and promoted healthy bowel activity.

4. BARLEYmax™ Launched

By 2009, the journey from shoebox to supermarket shelf was complete after food manufacturer Popina, under the Goodness Superfoods brand, launched products containing BARLEYmax™ throughout Australia.